Carbs

Here you can talk about all kind of TECH for the B50 B44 B25 And Other BSA unit Singles

Moderator: minetymenace

minetymenace
Gerry1
Gerry1

Carbs

Post by minetymenace »

Who has what carb fitted? I'm building a fast road B50 (MMX cam, 500cc, standard head) and am thinking about a carb. Ed and Stan say go for a Mikuni, but where to start, don't know much about them and am struggling to find out more, think this must be the ideal solution, but I have no experience or spare jets. Tom Beckett suggests starting with 34mm MkII Anal Smooth 170 main, 106 pilot and No3 slide (must dig out my Anal box :shock: ). Ideas and figures please (dont forget to mention cam, displacement vaulve size etc)
b50root
Site Admin
Site Admin

carb

Post by b50root »

Hi minetymenace. Im using a 34 mm Amal mkII carb on my B50. Im using a MX cam and a free ( empty ) goldstar silencer ( Noice expander ) Goes great on high revs. If I want power in the low area I´m using a A65 silencer with smaller outlet. The bike is very sensitive on the exhaust!!!

106 pilot and I think 180 Main ( I have to check, could be 170) I dont know the slide ( I have to check there too ).

Rickard :roll:
Andrew

Post by Andrew »

minety

I run a 580 CCM with a 34mm Dellorto PHBE. I used to run an Amal mk2, but the Dellorto is in a different league. Slightly harder to set up than the Amal, but well worth the effort. And its cheaper....
minetymenace
Gerry1
Gerry1

Post by minetymenace »