flywheel balancing

Here you can talk about all kind of TECH for the B50 B44 B25 And Other BSA unit Singles

Moderator: minetymenace

FGF
>80
>80
Flag: France

flywheel balancing

Post by FGF » Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:40 am

Hello ,

i 've read many posts about the crank balancing and some talk about the flywheel separate balancing .
i understand the sludge trap problem which cause a big dissymmetry .

i know the dynamic flywheel balancing wich is made on an electronic machine but
what is the static separate flywheel balancing ?

for me, a flywheel without big end can't be static balanced because of the counterweigh presence ...

i make a mistake sure , but wich one ?

minetymenace
Gerry1
Gerry1
Flag: England

Re: flywheel balancing

Post by minetymenace » Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:52 am

As far as I understand (and I'm no expert on these matters) the knack is to ensure once balanced, that both flywheels weigh the same, whatever balance factor you use. This means you have to make sure the flywheels weigh the same before you dynamically balance the whole shaft.
There is no evidence to support the notion that life is serious.
Abyssinian Wire-Haired Tripehounds Gnash.

kommando
>1400
>1400
Flag: Ireland

Post by kommando » Sat Aug 15, 2020 2:46 pm

Static balancing is for the piston and 1/2 ish of the con rod, it only changes the angle the weight is applied at, the weight of the inbalance is unchanged.

Dynamic balancing is to set the weights of the 2 sides of the crank to be equal to eliminate the rocking side to side motion, its pointless making the flywheels the same weight before the operation as the mainshafts are not the same weight anyway. Its a 50/50 call as to whether making the flywheels the same weight aids the difference between the mainshafts or makes it worse, so no advantage so let the dynamic balancer do his thing. As a single cylinder crank is narrower than a twin cylinder crank dynamic balancing is less likely to help on a single cylinder.

Jeff K
>1300
>1300